UNAIDS Gala 2016
Basel, Switzerland

UNAIDS, in collaboration with the Hotel InterContinental Geneva, Cartier and Design Miami, is organizing a fundraising gala to take place on 13 June during the Art Basel week in Basel, Switzerland.

The gala will aim to raise funds to increase access to HIV prevention and treatment services for women and children worldwide. The event will be hosted by Her Royal Highness Princess Eugenie of York, Caroline Rupert, Kweku Mandela and Ndaba Mandela.

This year’s gala will feature a live performance by Duran Duran and an exclusive design auction—a first for Art Basel—boasting one-of-a-kind contributions by the world’s best designers. It will be led and curated by Simon de Pury and Design Miami, who have enlisted a roll call of who’s who in the design world in support of UNAIDS.

In 2015, the UNAIDS gala in Geneva raised funds to stop new HIV infections among children through donations from people in attendance and a live auction of fine jewelery and art. The event was part of the UNAIDS and Hotel InterContinental Geneva “Where history is made” public–private partnership, which started in 2013 to advance global efforts to ensure that all children are born free from HIV, that their mothers have access to life-saving medicines and that all children living with HIV can lead healthy lives.


Where history is made
Monday, 13 June 2016
Basel, Switzerland, during Art Basel week

Her Royal Highness Princess Eugenie of York
Caroline Rupert
Ndaba Mandela
Kweku Mandela

Kofi Annan

Live performance
Duran Duran

Craig Robins, René Kamm

Event chairs
Diane Ackerman, Alia Al-Senussi, Robbie Antonio, Criselda Breene, Vera Brezhneva, Barbara Bulletti Newman, Naomi Campbell, Becca Cason Thrash, Eva Chow, Michael Chow, Andrea Crane, Silvia Cubiñá, Patricia Kamp, Samallie Kiyingi, Ekaterina Luki, JJ Martin, Jennifer McCrea, John Melick, Yossi Milo, Karline Moeller, Martina Mondadori, Mon Muellerschoen, Rodman Primack, Thabo Sefolosha, Tatyana Silva, Franca Sozzani, Swoon, Jamie Tisch, Marlies Verhoeven Reijtenbagh

Honorary chairs
Thorsten Albertz, Timea Bacsinsky, Victoria Beckham, Klaus Biesenbach, Peter and Stephanie Brant, Mr. Brainwash, James Chau, Francisco Costa, Wade Guyton, Lenny Kravitz, Doutzen Kroes, Jude Law, Vik Muniz, Behati Prinsloo, Nico & Vinz, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Aby Rosen, Ed Ruscha, Cindy Sherman, Patrick Stewart, Charlize Theron, Francesco Vezzoli, Naomi Watts

19:30: exclusive Design Miami vernissage exhibition, cocktails and red carpet
21:00: dinner, design auction and special musical performance
22:30: after-party

Halle 1.2, Messe Basel, Switzerland